"Love Scale" Wins Twice At Music Award

Roger_Wang_and_PWH_Trophy_resized.jpg Roger Wang, saw his original composition, “Love Scale”, bag two coveted awards at Malaysia’s 11th Entertainment Journalists Association Music Award presentation held at the Arena of Stars, Resorts World Genting on November 27, 2010.

The biennial award show presented Wang's song, made internationally popular by Hong Kong superstar Jacky Cheung early 2010, with the coveted “Top 10 Original Songs (International)” and the “Best Overseas interpretation Artist” for Cheung.More than 20 internationally-released Chinese songs were nominated for the “Top 10 Original Songs (International)”category and “Love Scale” was one of the top ten selected to win the award.

Other winners in the category include Fish Leong and Gary Cao. A total of 24 awards will be given out during the finale.

The song was originally released by the Sabahan musical duo Double Take, made up of Wang and Malaysian jazz princess Mia Palencia, in the year 2000 for their debut album and was selected by Cheung for his latest album “Private Corner” which was released in January 2010.

Wang said, “Winning the award is an incredible honour for me. Being new to the Chinese music scene and being nominated with so many other great composers, I really didn't expect to win. I wrote this song ten years ago as an English jazz ballad. Never in my wildest dreams did I think it would make its way to one of the biggest Cantopop star in the world and receive this recognition.”

This prestigious awards ceremony is organised by the Entertainment Journalists Association, also known as Persatuan Wartawan Hiburan Wilayah Persekutuan or PWH, a group made up of respected entertainment journalists from the various Chinese dailies throughout Malaysia, including the Sin Chew Daily and the China Press.

Among the star-studded guests at the ceremony that night were prominent local and international artistes Michael Wong, Victor Wong, Fish Leong, Penny Tai, Gary Cao, Rynn Lim, Nicholas Teo, Yu Heng, Z-Chen, Danny Wan, Daniel Lee, Yi Jet Qi, Lee Chi Ching, Karen Kong, Nick Chung, Henly, Yang Wei Han, Huang Yi Fei, Anthony Zheng, Candy Cheah, Yise Lo, WHY, Twins Girl, Wu Jia Hui, Manhand, Crossfire, and many more.